Audi Announced R8 LMS Driver Lineup For 24-Hour Races

April 5, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Audi’s magnificent endurance racer, the R8 LMS will be competing at the Nürburgring (June 25/26) and at Spa-Francorchamps (July 30/31) 24-hour races and for that they’ve hired a top-notch driver lineup. It includes DTM stars Mattias Ekström, Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Scheider.

With full factory support ABT Sportsline and Phoenix Racing each take on the green hell with Audi R8 LMS, the car that has a short but very glorious career including a memorable win at Bathurst in Australia. 2011 Audi R8 LMS is equipped with a modified engine control for the 5.2 litre V10 power unit, modified suspension and a light-weight motorsport clutch specifically developed for endurance races.

Audi Announced R8 LMS Driver Lineup For 24 Hour Races audi motorsport

ABT Sportsline and Phoenix Racing contest rounds of the VLN endurance championship in preparation for the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring. WRT contests the Blancpain Endurance Series in 2011 which also includes the 24-hour race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Full drivers lineup for all four cars:

Competing for ABT Sportsline are Mattias Ekström, Timo Scheider and Marco Werner as well as Christer Jöns, Luca Ludwig and Christopher Mies. Christian Abt is nominated as support for both cars entered by the DTM championship winning team from the years 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2009. Frank Stippler assumes the “dual role” for Phoenix Racing. He supports Marc Basseng, Marcel Fässler and Mike Rockenfeller and also Christopher Haase, Marc Hennerici and Markus Winkelhock.

Like last year, Phoenix Racing also contests the 24-hour race at Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium). Nominated to drive the two R8 LMS are Marc Basseng, Christopher Haase, Frank Stippler plus Marcel Fässler, Andrea Piccini and Mike Rockenfeller. The Belgian W Racing Team, which won the 2010 Belcar series championship title in its debut season, fields two more cars on behalf of Audi. Driving for WRT are Mattias Ekström, Greg Franchi and Timo Scheider and also Filipe Albuquerque, Bert Longin and Stéphane Ortelli. Phoenix Racing and WRT are regarded as having intimate knowledge of the Spa-Francorchamps race track and the Belgium 24-hour classic.